by Christopher Blomquist

The American Apparel & Footwear Association (AAFA) today announced its honorees for its annual American Image Awards – and a few familiar names from the men’s sector have made the cut this year.

The 2022 winners are:

Person of the Year: Chip Bergh, President and CEO, Levi Strauss & Co.

Company of the Year: Gap Inc.

Designer of the Year: Prabal Gurung

Fashion Maverick: ThirdLove (a women’s lifestyle and lingerie brand)

Eco-Steward of the Year: The Ellen MacArthur Foundation’s Fashion Initiative

The ceremony honors individuals and companies for their leadership, excellence, and achievements in all sectors of the apparel and footwear industry, including design, manufacturing and retail. It is set to take place on Tuesday, April 26, 2022 at The Plaza Hotel in New York City. It will be hosted by Segun Oduolowu of People TV and will benefit the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Foundation for a sixth year of philanthropic partnership.

“The American Image Awards has always been about excellence and achievement. In a new climate – both the realities of a global pandemic and the increasingly challenging business and environmental realities – innovation and stewardship continue to remain paramount,” said Steve Lamar, president and CEO of AAFA, in a statement. “The 2022 honorees are truly trailblazers who galvanize their employees and their peers across this industry’s far-reaching supply chains to ensure impactful contributions to the American and global economies, to our stakeholder community, and the future of fashion.”

“Through the American Image Awards, the AAFA brings awareness to important issues facing our industry while celebrating its leaders who spearhead progress and change,” added Steven Kolb, CEO of the CFDA. “We are thankful for AAFA’s continued support, and look forward to our continued collaboration for years to come.”