by John Russel Jones

The Council of Fashion Designers of America [CFDA] celebrated the winners and honorees of the 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards in Partnership with Amazon Fashion at Cipriani South Street at Casa Cipriani in Manhattan last night. Actress Natasha Lyonne served as the evening’s host, and the awards were co-hosted by CFDA members Joseph Altuzarra, Gabriela Hearst, Aurora James, and Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough to mark the CFDA’s 60th anniversary.

Emily Adams Bode Aujla

Trevor Noah presented the American Menswear Designer of the Year to Emily Adams Bode Aujla of Bode, and Christina Ricci presented the American Womenswear Designer of the Year award to Catherine Holstein of Khaite.
Joel Kim Booster announced that Raul Lopez of Luar was the American Accessory Designer of the Year, while Keke Palmer presented the American Emerging Designer of the Year to Elena Velez. Lenny Kravitz was named Fashion Icon, presented by Bradley Cooper. Martha Stewart, who was introduced by Muge Erdirik Dogan, gave the inaugural Innovation Award presented by Amazon Fashion to SKIMS, which was accepted by Kim Kardashian, Emma Grede, and Jens Grede. Cher presented Patti Wilson with the Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard.

Lenny Kravitz, Bradley Cooper

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark of Chrome Hearts by Cher and Jesse Jo Stark. The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert was presented to Andrew Bolton by Anna Wintour. Law Roach received the inaugural Stylist Award from Kerry Washington. Eva Chen presented the Positive Social Influence Award to Slaysians from The House of Slay featuring Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung, and Ezra William. Amber Valletta presented The United Nations with the Environmental Sustainability Award, which was accepted by Ms. Amina J. Mohammed, United Nations Deputy Secretary-General. Stan Herman presented the Special Anniversary Award to Jeffrey Banks.

In one of the most emotional moments of the evening, Shannon Abloh accepted the posthumous Board of Trustee’s Award on behalf of her late husband, Virgil Abloh.

  • Raul Lopez

VIP guests included: Addison Rae, Amanda Seyfried, Bernadette Peters, Bethann Hardison, Carolyn Murphy, Christan Siriano, Diane von Furstenberg, Drake, Gigi Hadid, Jackson White, Jaden Smith, Jamie Xie, Janelle Monae, Jesse Williams, Justin Theroux, La La Anthony, Lori Harvey, Mariska Hargitay, Shalom Harlow, Tommy and Dee Hilfiger, Vanessa Hudgens, Vanessa Traina, Vera Wang, Wisdom Kaye, and Zoey Deutch

The official partners of the 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards include: Presenting Partner, Amazon Fashion, Official Skincare Partner, Dr. Barbara Sturm, and Official Hotel Partner, Park Lane New York.

All Images by BFA. Pictured above: Thom Browne, Andrew Bolton, Justin Theroux.