by Stephen Garner
A look from Dyne’s spring/summer 2018 presentation

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) and Vogue have announced the 10 finalists of the 2017 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund (CVFF).

The 2017 finalists are: Ahlem Manai-Platt, AHLEM; Becca McCharen-Tran, CHROMAT; Christopher Bevans, DYNE; Victor Glemaud, VICTOR GLEMAUD; Jordan Askill, JORDAN ASKILL; Matthew Harris, MATEO NEW YORK; Eli Azran, RTA; Sandy Liang, SANDY LIANG; Telfar Clemens, TELFAR LLC; and Patric DiCaprio, Bryn Taubensee, David Moses & Claire Sully, VAQUERA

This year, the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Selection Committee welcomes four new judges: Joseph Altuzarra, creative director at Altuzarra; Eva Chen, head of fashion partnerships at Instagram; Roopal Patel, senior vice president and fashion director at Saks Fifth Avenue, and Nicole Phelps, director at Vogue Runway.

Over the course of the next few weeks, the Selection Committee will meet with each finalist to review their current collections, conduct in-depth interviews and visit their design studios. In October, the finalists will travel to Los Angeles where they will present several looks at a fashion show at the Chateau Marmont.

The winner and two runners-up will be announced at a gala dinner in New York City on November 6. In addition to invaluable mentorship by established designers and industry executives, the winner will receive a monetary prize of $400,000 and the two-runners up take home $150,000 each.

“The CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund continues to transform the careers of American designers through mentoring and financial support,” said Steven Kolb, president and CEO of the CFDA. “By fostering emerging talent, the Fashion Fund lays the foundation for the future of American fashion.”