Raf Simons
by Stephen Garner
Raf Simons
Raf Simons

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) unveiled the nominees and honorees for the 2018 CFDA Fashion Awards with an exclusive digital campaign on Instagram on Thursday night. The digital announcements were made by Candice Huffine, Martha Hunt, Young Paris, Todd Snyder, Irene Neuwirth, and Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia of Monse.

The nominees for the Menswear Designer of the Year Award are nominees are Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, James Jebbia for Supreme, Thom Browne, and Tom Ford.

The Womenswear Designer of the Year Award nominees are Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Gabriela Hearst, Marc Jacobs, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row.

For the Accessory Designer of the Year Award, the nominees are Paul Andrew, Stuart Vevers for Coach, Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel, Irene Neuwirth, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row.

Virgil Abloh
Virgil Abloh

Mike Amiri for Amiri, Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection, Aurora James for Brother Vellies, Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss, and Sander Lak for Sies Marjan have been nominated for the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent. The Swarovski Award recipient will receive generous financial support from Swarovski as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative Swarovski crystal resources.

Honorary award winners include: Diane von Furstenberg as the Swarovski Award for Positive Change winner; Narciso Rodriguez will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award; Carolina Herrera will receive the Founder’s Award in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert; British Vogue editor-in-chief Edward Enninful will receive the Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard; and last, but certainly not least, Donatella Versace will be presented with the International Award.

“The 2018 CFDA Fashion Awards continue to honor those who have led the American fashion industry, and this year, we welcome designers who approach fashion in new ways,” said Steven Kolb, president and CEO of the CFDA. “We look forward to celebrating all talent with our host Issa Rae at the Brooklyn Museum in June.”

Nadja Swarovski, member of the Swarovski Executive Board, commented: “The 2018 CFDA Fashion Awards marks our 17th year of close partnership. At Swarovski, we are dedicated to nurturing young designers, and the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent gives us the opportunity to celebrate the brilliant minds that will shape the future of fashion. We are also delighted to champion philanthropic impact within the U.S. fashion industry with the Swarovski Award for Positive Change.”

The 2018 CFDA Fashion Awards, in partnership with Swarovski for the 17th year, will be held on June 4 and hosted by Issa Rae at the Brooklyn Museum.

Thom Browne CFDA Awards